flowgeo.blogg.se

Java standard edition 6 for mac
Java standard edition 6 for mac











  1. #Java standard edition 6 for mac how to#
  2. #Java standard edition 6 for mac update#
  3. #Java standard edition 6 for mac code#

The number of users actually performing a request at any given time is usually a very small percentage of the total number of active users, and during request processing is the only time that a database connection is required. Accordingly, developers often wish to share a 'pool' of open connections between all of the application's current users. Opening a connection per user can be unfeasible in a publicly-hosted Internet application where the number of simultaneous users can be very large. Version 1.3 supports JDBC 3 and requires Java 1.4.According to the web page, "Creating a new connection for each user can be time consuming (often requiring multiple seconds of clock time), in order to perform a database transaction that might take milliseconds. The Apache Jakarta Project has released Commons-DBCP 1.3 and 1.4, a library for pooling database connections.Version 1.4 supports JDBC 4 and requires Java 1.6. When it is ready, (if it is?) you'll hear it here first. The new site almost launched in very rough form a month ago, but hosting issues held that up. Work on the new system is ongoing in fits and starts, but it may yet take some time before it's ready.

java standard edition 6 for mac

That potential may or may not be realized, but I am still reasonably convinced that the site in and of itself no longer justifies the time investment I'd have to put into it to keep it running in its current form. My thinking was (and still is) that the infrastructureholds more potential than the content. Why write something new instead of adapt an existing modern backend such as WordPress?WordPress would have made sense if the site were valuable in and of itself, but the site really didn't seem to be.

java standard edition 6 for mac

Consequently early this year I made a deliberate decision to devote what time I had to writing a modern backend and putting updates aside while I did that. Nor did I think it was really worth pushing forward in its current state.

java standard edition 6 for mac

This site has always been a part time endeavor, and I did not feel I had the time to both continue updating it in its current state and to work on improving it going forward. When I was writing and teaching more or less fulltime, I could treat this site as part of that, and arguably it returned the time I invested, but that's no longer the case.It was becoming more and more obvious to me that there really hasn't been much of value here for a long time, both to me or to site readers and that if Cafe au Lait was to become valuable again some serious rethinking and rework was needed.

#Java standard edition 6 for mac code#

The code used to drive this site is vintage 1995 (yes, it's been around that long) so it really doesn't meet the needs of a modern site. Several people have wondered what (if anything) is going on here.The short answer is that this site is on hiatus while I work on a new backend. At the tune of the new year and a new decade, I've decided to explore some changes here.First bug filed against exist during this project.This morning a simple practice exercise to get my toes wet.I didn't really like the format of yesterday's Twitter dump so today I opened another can of XQuery ass-kicking to improve it.The XQuery work continues to roll along.I've converted all the old quotes archives to well-formed (though not necessarily valid) XHTML and uploaded them into eXist.Today I went from merely splitting the quotes files apart into indiviodual quotes to actually storing them back into the database.Parsing a date in the form "Wednesday, January 20, 2010" in XQuery.I've just about finished importing all the old quotes into eXist.I'm beginning to seriously hate the runtime error handling (or lack thereof) in XQuery.I've more or less completed the script that converts the old news into Atom entry documents.I've got a lot of the old data loaded into eXist (news and quotes readings and other pages I still have to think about).XQuery executing for about an hour now.I spent a morning debugging a problem that I have now boiled down to this test case.I'm slowly continuing to work on the new backend.

#Java standard edition 6 for mac how to#

Yesterday I figured out how to process form input.

#Java standard edition 6 for mac update#

  • Also, speaking of Jaxen, I noticed that the website has been a little out of date for a while now because I neglected to update the releases page when 1.1.2 was released in 2008.
  • In other news, I have had very little time to work on this site lately.
  • java standard edition 6 for mac

    I've released XOM 1.2.5, my free-as-in-speech (LGPL) dual streaming/tree-based API for processing XML with Java.













    Java standard edition 6 for mac